Brief history and description about School of Pharmacy

Pharmacy higher education program at ITB was established on October 6th, 1947, held by the Department of Pharmacy which had been managed under the coordination of a faculty named Faculteit voor Wiskunde and Natuurwetenschapen. At that time, this faculty was a part of the University of Indonesia. On February 1st, 1949, the name of this faculty was changed to the Faculty of Exacta and Natural Sciences (Fakultas Ilmu Pasti dan Ilmu Alam, FIPIA), and it was still as a part of the University of Indonesia. The organization structure was very simple, with only one person responsible for managing the department, but since 1959, the organization was expanded and a Secretary of Department was assigned to help the Head of Department. In 1953, Prof. dr. Raden Mohammad Djuhana Wiradikarta, one of the academic staff of Pharmacy Department, was the first Indonesian citizen who became the Dean of FIPIA, until 1959.

On March 2nd, 1959, Faculty of Engineering and FIPIA started to join and formed a new institution, named Institut Teknologi Bandung (ITB) and the pharmacy education became a part of Department of Chemistry – Biology (Departemen Kimia-Biologi, DKB). After reorganization in 1973, the Department of Pharmacy was then operated as an important part of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences (Fakultas Matematika dan Ilmu Pengetahuan Alam, FMIPA), until 2005. Up to 1987, the Department of Pharmacy organization was supported by scientific divisions, i.e. pharmaceutical chemistry, formulation, pharmaceutical biology, and pharmacology. Each division named as section (seksi) was a group of staff with interconnected knowledge, or a group of basic and applied science in pharmacy fields that covered theoretical and practical education, and research activities. Each section consisted of lecturers, under the supervision of one senior staff as a head of the section. He or she was responsible for developing and managing the section in giving lectures, laboratory practices and coordinating some research projects. Each laboratory was managed and supervised by the head of the laboratory and every academic staff in the department has their own responsibility in giving lectures, assisting laboratory activities and conducting their research projects. This academic organization was gradually improved and developed and to date, the School of Pharmacy has five research groups, i.e. Pharmacochemistry, Pharmaceutics, Pharmaceutical Biology, Pharmacology and Clinical Pharmacy, and Sports Science.

In early 1947, the Department of Pharmacy enrolled high school graduates who held B certificates, such as HBS, AMS, VHO or High School. The language used in delivering the lecture was Dutch or English. The duration of education was 5.5 years, consisted of 3 years for bachelor and 2.5 years for doctoral levels. The graduates had an opportunity to proceed to postgraduate level if they had passed at least one major subject (hoofdvak) and two minor subjects (bijvak). For example, the major subject was chemistry, and the minor subjects were botany, zoology, and physics. The curriculum was not well structured, and there was no limitation in graduation time. Started in 1951, some more subjects were added into the curriculum according to the required education system. Since there was a desperate need for pharmacists in the society, the government through the Department of Education of Republic of Indonesia issued the regulation on the duration of pharmacy study in the university into 4 years, which was consisted of 1-year preliminary study, 1-year candidates study, and 2-year pharmacy study.

In 1960, the duration of pharmacy education was changed into a 6-year study, consisted of 5-year undergraduates study and 1-year professional study. The curriculum was also amended and adjusted to the required educational system. Some new subjects were included in the curriculum such as English, military education, prescription, etc. In 1973, there was a significant improvement in ITB, in which all the first-year students entered a common first-year level (Tahap Persiapan Bersama, TPB). They could choose into any department only after they passed the first-year study. The study was followed by the credit system, in which the student could select a number of subject’s credits for a maximum of 24 credits per semester. This system allowed the student to manage their own capability in finishing their study. The curriculum is evaluated and revised every 5 years, and it was arranged according to the development of pharmaceutical science and technology and clinical pharmacy in Indonesia. The current curriculum is the 2013 version.

Besides undergraduate program, School of Pharmacy offers master and doctoral programs. There were 4 options in master and doctoral program, i.e. pharmacochemistry, pharmaceutics, natural product pharmacy, pharmacology, and toxicology. Professional degree in pharmacy is also offered in a 1-year Apothecary Education Program which covers lectures, internship, and comprehensive exam. The program is offered to a bachelor of pharmacy, and the graduate will then be granted as a Registered Pharmacist.

In 1996, the Department of Pharmacy had a chance to get a new beautiful architectural building, named Laboratorium Teknologi (Labtek) VII, located at the center of the ITB campus, next to the Electrical Engineering and FMIPA Building. With an area of 6579 m2, Department of Pharmacy ITB tried to optimize the facilities and buildings to serve the students and the stakeholders. In addition, many advanced instruments and facilities had been installed and supported by qualified staffs. The aforementioned facilities are utilized to ultimately prepare the Department of Pharmacy ITB to become the best pharmacy higher education provider in Indonesia.

Since August 29th, 2005, Department of Pharmacy changed its status into School of Pharmacy with a level that is equivalent to Faculty. By 2006, undergraduate program at the School of Pharmacy diversifies into two study programs, i.e. Pharmaceutical Science & Technology (Sains & Teknologi Farmasi, STF) and Clinical & Community Pharmacy (Farmasi Klinik & Komunitas, FKK) study programs.